Filbert Street was the home of Leicester City for 111 years.
The ground had a very unique feel to it, with two large stands on the south and west, and smaller stands to the north and east.
The North Stand was a low stand with executive boxes running along the length of it, perched above a low seated area. To the left of this, was another low seated stand that ran the length of the pitch. This stand was used to accommodate both home and away fans, with the away fans being given a section towards the south end of the ground.
The South Stand was a double-tiered construct that originally had seats on the top tier and a terrace that was divided between home and away supporters beneath. Seats were added to the lower tier in 1994, to help comply with the new safety regulations. The main stand was the largest on the ground and held 9,500 supporters.
The total capacity at the now all-seater stadium was 21,500 and following success on the pitch under then manager, Martin O’Neill, the decision was made to move to a bigger stadium. The club purchased Freeman’s Wharf, the site of a former power station 200 yards south of Filbert Street and the new stadium was built there. The King Power Stadium was opened in 2002.
The record attendance at Filbert Street was achieved in a fifth-round FA Cup tie against Tottenham Hotspur on the 18th February 1928. 47,298 spectators were present to see the visitors take the match with a 0-3 victory.
The last game to be played at Filbert Street resulted in a 2-1 win for the home side in what was a dismal relegation season for Leicester, featuring just five wins all season.
Filbert Street was demolished in 2003.